This is me.

You can call me ‘J’. I’m a 21-year-old female, living in the UK. I’ve just graduated in Psychology and I’ve been trying to sort out my post-uni existence in the recent summer. By sort out, I mean ignoring my responsibilities and impending adulthood by spending as much time with my ‘still-at-uni’ friends, watching daytime TV, and baking cakes. This was going entirely fine right up until the point where I realised that the only way to fund my procrastination was to actually get a job. I start training next week. Adulting has officially begun. I spend half my time with my mum, bro, dog (Zac), and a snake (affectionately known as snakey-snoo), and the other half with my dad, step-mum, and 2 younger siblings. Finally,  I’m in a long-term, long-distance relationship with an absolutely wonderful human being who just so happens to be 130 miles away from me for most of the year. So that’s my present state of affairs. That’s the stuff you usually tell someone you just met, right?

So let’s get a little deeper. I suffer from indeterminate colitis, (edging towards crohns) which is an auto-immune chronic disease. I was recently diagnosed with polycystic ovaries, and currently know little to nothing about what’s happening there. I have depression and anxiety, and it’s sometimes a touch and go experience. I have two families, been that way for at least 12 years now, and it makes me laugh and cry in equal measure. I’m a 21 year old living in a time of change…things aren’t what they used to be, and no one really has any idea what they’re going to be like in the future. Like mentioned earlier, I’m getting used to being an adult when I feel like I should still be in school. I’m a definite introvert, a hater of clubs, and a lover of binge watching and films. I get too involved in characters lives, and I stalk tumblr and pinterest to indulge the fangirl section of my brain.  I live my life in quotes and feelings. I am a complex mixture of contrasts, there’s a lot of dark, but also a good deal of light.

Over the next few weeks I’ll do individual blog posts touching on everything and anything about me, just so that you can get an idea of who I am, and who you’re ‘conversing’ with. After that…well, we’ll just see what happens, and what comes into my head at the time of writing. Expect dark dry humour, blunt opinions, many stories, OTT gushing, tough subjects, and a little bit of psychology. And if you want to stay, I welcome you to take part; and even if there is no one out there, even if you are just passing, thank you for stopping by.

Those up past midnight are the writers, the loved, the lonely. The introspectives, the over-thinkers, the poets and the painters. And that’s what I want. It doesn’t matter what the actual time is, but let’s always be up after midnight on this blog. Let’s be vulnerable and honest. Let’s be real.

1
Time lapse of the Night sky – Shutterstock
Leave a Reply

